Being real partners well with brownies!

Standard

Time to be real…

Hello all… Yessss it’s been too long! Between going from precalculus to anatomy to drama 125, pilates and swim classes along with the whirlwinds of life… At times I’ve wanted to blog yet have not had the mental or emotional strength to really dig in and just do. Even now I’m aalmot hesitant to continue however… I found there are times that I just need to go with the internal prompt to blog my heart out!
That being said… I left you all at the begining of this semester and I was facing more issues with injury and a full load of courses… All I can say is…. Thank God I’ve made it this far! Since then, the semester has been like one giant roller coaster. From cramming my head with precalculous and anatomy to dealing with battles with my health and family I can honestly say that this semester has definitely forced me to take every bit of faith that I’ve got to press through and continue. To be more specific… With one injury subsiding, another one would pop up, my tablet that contained a good portion of my work and memories broke and lost everything, a situation came up with my troubled family member putting us in a position to have to give temporary care for her new little guy, and mom’s car broke down leaving us needing to take the bus (putting extra stress on my body while trying to heal and even greater strain on our financial situation). My Grandmother on my dad’s side of the family passed away and due to the restraining order I have on my dad who lived with her… I hadn’t been able to see her in over two years and had barely been able to speak with her over the phone and… I found out about her passing over facebook! My cell phone broke twice… I watched several people get to train for and run races I’ve had on my dream list forever now… And now… Here it is… Two weeks left in the semester… I have a cell phone but no service (using it like a tablet with the wifi connection  available to me to create this post), random flare ups in my body, facing uncertainty about finances and how my family and I will make it through the next few days… Weeks … Ect… However, it’s in this moment that I’m finding I can take joy in the little things. For instance… Looking back over the semester I went in finding it hard to walk right again, yet have been able to push through. Despite things being constantly taken from me… Moments I’ve prayed for have been granted. I got to meet my troubled loved one’s little guy (who I hadn’t gotten to see at all), the business I have been blueprinting for several years now was invested in, the ministry that will partner with that buisness is soon to be put up for discussion in a leadership board meeting,  I got to sit at lunch with my God mamma and celebrate her victory at the Boston marathon AND she gave me an autographed picture from one of my running inspirations (Shalane Flanagan), I got to meet Jen Bricker (amazing arialist with no legs), have almost mastered precalculus (I couldn’t even pass algebra in HS), ran on a track 3 times (never give up), my love for the performing arts has been fueled even greater (in choir and in Drama 125), I’ve been able to make connections with people on the bus, work and at school and give them the hope of Christ and even offer prayer to some of them and the best part? I was able to have a real, fun birthday party for my beautiful nephew. This… Was a BIG blessing considering most holidays have been full of stress for us. All in all I can truley say what God Mamma says best… Count your blessings! While I am human… I’ve complained about things many times… I’ve gotten tierd of dealing with pain and the fact that there’s treatment available that because of my financial situation am unable to recieve, I’ve been angry that even little things keep getting taken from me, however… Those are times I’ve learned to just refocus and realize that life is not about my comfort. Life is about living for Christ and loving others through a heart that loves Christ. If I can encourage and give hope to someone in the midst of my drowning circumstances… What greater joy could I recieve than to see someone get that moment of comfort? In closing I want to leave y’all with a new gluten free brownie recipe! I made it for the ladies at choir and it was a total hit soooo I hope y’all with get the opportunity to test it out for yourselves!

Gluten free brownies

A little note… these do contain bananas, however you can’t even taste them! It tastes like pure chocolate goodness!

Ingredients
-2 & 1/2 cups oat flour
– 2 & 1/4 tsp baking powder
– 3/4 tsp baking soda
– 3 tbs Hershey cocoa powder
-3/4 cups of raw brown sugar
-3/4 cups pure cane sugar
– 1 cup mashed overripe banana
– 1 whole egg and 1 egg white. You may substitute the whole egg for 2 egg whites

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Greece 2 – inch deep cake pan with olive oil and use gluten free flour to coat the oil lightly. Mix wet ingredients and dry seperately then combine. Put mix into the pan , and place in oven to bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until you can poke a toothpick in the center and have it come out clean. Set it out to cool and enjoy with some non-fat frozen yogurt or one of my new favorite products, a few tbs of vanilla flavored Elli quark spread over the top like icing!

I hope you all get to try this new recipe! Feel free to give me your comments below if you do!

FB_IMG_1463329178335

 

Leave a Reply

