To Everything There is a Time…. Plus gluten free Ginger bread!

Standard

To everything… there is a season… the Bible states it, the Byrds even wrote a song about it… and well I’m going to talk a little about it! Lol! Seasons, seem to have been changing like whirlwind around me… at times, I thought was so alone I couldn’t bear it, times when there were so many people around that I just wanted to be alone, times of peace, joy, birth, death, feast ,famine, and my most recent one… a time to just plain GROW UP!!! You see, for a long time I somehow got this great idea that God was going to just drop a miracle in my lap. A giant, sudden, fix all my problems MIRACLE! When, In reality… I don’t even deserve it! To be honest…  here I am, 31 years old, practically living off my mom and wining about some of the most stupid things… and… in my spirit, I felt the Holy Spirit say, “why don’t you JUST GROW UP!” No really… so, along with the joyful chaos of final rehearsals and performances in the Hilltop Community Church’s “Singing Christmas Tree” this past week (which was an AMAZING production), I made some choices in regards to school and work that.. well… LORD WILLING will have me on a path to freedom I so desperately crave! If you think about it… I was running around doing races and running around doing this and that for other people, but when my own life is a sinking ship, that’s not a good testimony! So, in my attempt to not only help myself, but to set a good example to little guy and to give my poor mom a break from bearing the burden of me (and that can be rather large at times), I’ve set out on a scholastic journey, gotten more serious about my job search, and have begun the blueprints of a project that will remain on the “DL” for now. What will come of this? Only God knows. However, I WILL tell you this… I refuse to give up on life! I refuse to settle for anything less than accomplishing all that God has for me to do while I’m here. Most of all, I REFUSE to remain childish and expect miracles when I’m not willing to put in the footwork to make it happen! As for running and racing… I’m focusing on finding answers and getting my body back into balance. IF I race again (which my soul so desperately longs to do) it will be in God’s time. Surrender is ever so bitter sweet! In closing I just want to say… If you have goals and dreams, give them to God, let Him work. I’ve done just that… and…. I hope ya’ll will continue to join me in seeing what He decides to do! This weeks recipe, gluten free Ginger Bread Cookies!  God bless and have an amazing week!

Gluten Free Gingerbread Cookies

(Recipe modified from minimalistbaker.com)

~Ingredients~

-1 free range egg

-1/2 cup dark brown sugar

-3 Tbs molasses

-1/2 cup non-fat or lowfat plain Greek yogurt

-3/4 tsp ginger

-1/2 tsp cinnamon

-1/4 tsp salt

-1/2 tsp gluten free baking soda

-1 1/2 cups brown rice flour (or gluten free flour of your choice)

~Directions~

In a large bowl, mix Greek yogurt, sugar, molasses, egg,and spices and mix on low-med until thoroughly mixed. Slowly add flour and mix with a spoon, you may also use your hands, making sure dough is no longer too sticky yet not too firm. Chill dough in fridge over night. the following say, preheat oven to 350 degrees, get a cutting board or other flat space fit to roll dough, sprinkle some gluten free flour on the rolling space as well as the pin to keep them from sticking to the dough. Roll dough until about 1/8 inch thick, cut into desired shapes and use a floured spatula to transfer them to a cookie sheet (sprayed with butter flavor cooking spray). Bake for 8  min or until edges are slightly golden, then let cool for about 20 min and transfer to a rack where you can add some powdered sugar or even decorate with some cream cheese icing!

Leave a Reply

