Pumpkin Pie Granola and Words From the Heart

Standard

10423769_10201916126623785_1207638523484511083_n (1)

Hey ya’ll! I hope you had a wonderful and blessed Thanksgiving! Mine was… not what I planned, however…. it was amazing none the less. Over this past week I, once again, thought I was going to be able to run outside again and start rebuilding a good training program, but… life has its ways of throwing curve-balls.My heart sank this week as many of my friends enjoyed their Thanksgiving Day racing…. ohhhh the Autumn races… my favorite time of year to run and race… this year, again… I was forced to sit on the sidelines.  At the same time… I chose to have a good attitude and cheer the running community on, and I was blessed none the less. The day was spent making a small dinner for mom, little guy, and me and… I actually felt ok enough to jog a little outside in our local park. Behind me, little guy came running along… ohhh how I was wanting to do the turkey trot with him this year for his first race (being that it had a kids’ run afterward), but God redeemed what was lost right there in the park! WHAT a blessing! So, I guess this week, despite the troubles, God has been there! I mean… so I haven’t been able to run and race like I’d been wanting so badly, no… I didn’t get to spend this holiday with my troubled family member like I did when she was on the right path… but least I got to run with little guy, spend the day with mom and him (who mean the world to me), and… I’m getting ready to perform in our church’s Christmas program which will be my first time acting in a loooong time! Will I run and race again?… I choose to stand firm and believe that God will provide all that I need to rehabilitate and get back out there… in the mean time, I’m choosing to keep my chin up and focus on positive, forward motion. This season I’m facing… seems trying… believe me… there have been times that between the losses of loved ones, financial struggles, battles with health where I’ve truly felt like God had abandoned me, but it’s also where I’ve found that He’s closer than ever before. There have been days where I didn’t want to go to church…. today was one of them  (yet I went and was blessed), days when I couldn’t stand to wake up and face another trying day, but each day I’ve learned truly is a blessing. Once I got that in my head, it’s made every day worth facing and it helps me hold onto the hope that God truly will work all things out for the good. Wherever you are… whoever you are…. I don’t know what battles you face (if any at this current time)… what I do know is, there’s a God who truly is bigger than anything you could ever face and who loves you more than anyone could ever love you! If you’re hopeless… ask Him to give you hope and He will. He gives me hope every time I look into little guys face, it helps me believe that my troubled loved one just might turn herself around to be the mommy I know she can be! If you need love… ask Him! He’ll give it! He’s given me love through my mom, little guy, and my close friends. If you’re lonely…. ask Him to keep you company and He’ll send heaven to invade your room and hold you tight! He’s done this for me during some of my darkest hours when no one was there to console me and He’ll truly do it for you! If you need provision… just ask Him and He’ll do above and beyond all that you could ask or think. He’s done this countless times for me… just read over some of my previous posts and you’ll see He’s always come through! Today, I’ll close today by giving you one FINAL pumpkin recipe =) Pumpkin Pie granola! Ya’ll have an amazing week!

10363967_10201916132503932_4889618445826645159_n

*Pumpkin Spice Granola*

INGREDIENTS

-1Cup rolled oats

-1Cup quick oats

-1 tsp roasted flax seeds

-1/3 cup crumbled walnuts, almonds and pumpkin seeds mixed

-1/2 cup dried cranberries and/ or raisins

-1/2 cup pumpkin butter (recipe in my previous blog/ click on hyperlink)

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all dry ingredients thoroughly, then add pumpkin butter. Spray a cookie sheet evenly with cooking  spray and set aside. Mix until dry ingredients are coated and little clusters are formed. Spread clusters out on cookie sheet, place in oven checking every 5 min to mix and turn on sheet letting bake for 15-20 min or until clusters are golden. Place on a rack to cool, then remove from tray and put into a tupperware container. Enjoy as your am cereal in some froyo, to top a morning parfait… the list goes on!

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie Granola and Words From the Heart

  1. 😉 grace peace and blessings, God is simply amazing and when i read oflr hear people’s stories of triumph is simply amazing. Praying that God continues to strengthen, bless, and grow you up every step of the day. Be encouraged and stay blessed

Leave a Reply

