Thankful and blessed! Need I say more?

Standard

Hey ya’ll! Sorry for the late post. To be honest… I had a post written and ready last Sat. While awaiting the approval of and individual mentioned in it… I came to realize something… why was I going to drain everyone with the crazy ups and downs of my week ONCE MORE? I mean, sure, it might help others see that, yes there are people struggling in their day to day lives… however… does that really help? You see, I COULD continue to go on and on about Dr. visits, the need for physical therapy and access to other strength and balance training (which medi-cal doesn’t cover)  financial woes, my recent loss of someone very dear to me, a Dr. telling me I might have PTSD, the physical ailment that has left me in severe pain at times, my troubled family member who’s been spotted like big foot in various places in the Bay acting inappropriately (of course people come and tell us about the  sightings), the stress of the holidays coming and not getting to spend them with my troubled loved one, the worries connected to what she’s involved with and the condition she’s reportedly been in, her son (who mom and I foster) finally making the connection between the voice that calls on the phone and the mommy holding him in the pictures on our fridge battling with emotions connected to his loss, the stress and strife in my household that I do my best to avoid like the plague, the challenge to get to and from places without my own car… blah blah blah blah blahhhhhhhh…. when, the reality of it is… I’m blessed. I found in these times that my relationship with God had grown by leaps and bounds, some of the most precious and incredible friendships have been healed, restored, built, and even just began to be planted. In all honesty… I lead a life that to many would be considered a meager existence, however… I wouldn’t trade it for the world! That being said, here are some amazing things that I have to be thankful for just over this past week and a half:

1.) I made the call to my Grandma (on my dad’s side) who I thought was angry at me for placing the restraining order on my dad only to find that we both were sobbing tears of joy at the sound of each other’s voices… what a blessing!

2.) (definitely a tie for first place) I got to see someone very precious, hug them, sing to them and tell them how much I love them just less than a day before their passing. What an honor!

3.) I have my mom, who has always been there and supported me… what a jewel!

4.) Mom and I have the privilege of helping raise little guy and watching him grow so beautifully.

5.) The chiropractor that I go to is one of, if not, the best practitioner in the area and has been a TOTAL blessing and is helping get back to well… Lord willing… running and racing

6.) A good friend of mine and I decided to pick up a project for ministry that we set aside for far to long, thus restoring a semi broken friendship and… in the long run, will hopefully bless some folks. Only time will tell.

7.) I now have medi-cal and the Dr. they set me up with quickly helped me identify some hazardous eating habits that I’ve battled off and on and we’ve begun to focus on getting me back on track.

8.) I get to perform for two events this coming month!

9.) I have an incredible best friend, God mom, running mentor who has shown me how valuable friendship is and has honored me with the privilege to be in her life!

10.) I have an amazing church family that has continuously reached out to and supported my family and me.

11.) THE MOST IMPORTANT OF ALL… I have Jesus Christ! No sickness, injury, trial or tribulation can take His Spirit from me. He has the final say in my family, friendships, health, finances… In Him, miracles can happen! Just believe!

Today, I will leave ya’ll with a little something I came up with myself! I hope ya’ll enjoy!

11399_10201854340959182_2597644332336570108_n

Pumpkin Harvest Butter

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients
-1 & 1/2 cup homemade pumpkin 1 15 oz can of prepared pumpkin
-1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce
-Juice from 1/2 medium lemon
-1/4 cup apple juice
-1/2 tsp (heaping) Trader Joe’s pumpkin spice
-1/2 cup brown sugar
-1/4 cup clover honey
(any TJ’s products are usually best purchased at TJ’s or Amazon.com)
Directions
Mix all ingredients in a medium sauce pan. Bring to a boil, bring down to a simmer, let it simmer for 25-30 min, stirring every few min. Set aside and let cool. Store in a mason or jelly jar, enjoy on toast, pancakes, peanut butter sandwiches (instead of jam), as drizzle for your fro yo, you can add to homemade milk shakes, I add it to my nonfat Greek yogurt to make pumpkin pie yogurt … get creative and ENJOY!!!
One thought on “Thankful and blessed! Need I say more?

Leave a Reply

