Standard

Hmmm Fall is here!!! How I love this season! The smells of glade and yankee pumpkin pie candles, cold air, change of leaves, harvest festivals, training in the cold, fall races, great food, enjoying a warm pumpkin spice latte, making memories with family and friends…. ohhh how the list goes on! Growing up in Tahoe, I got to experience a wonderful display of the four seasons, however in the bay… not so much. Thankfully there’s BERKELEY! That place comes to life in the fall and winter seasons! Berkeley bowl always has a wonderful display of produce (my favorite section) that seams to call my name as I run by on the streets 😉 The smell of that place hmmmm, every store with it’s fall decorations and smells, the picturesque houses adorned with harvest and Halloween decorations. Makes me want to just run through the streets, taking it all in and head home to Crockett and wrap up in some sweats and a warm blanket with a good book and pumpkin late and just enjoy every moment! Of all the places in the bay I have to hand it to Berkeley for truly capturing the essence of fall!
Now, as this past week went bye things began to progress. I was finally able to make some progress in training and even got to enjoy a few runs in Berkeley while my mom worked. However, things took a slightly painful turn when mom was on a cram for time… I picked up the broom and dust pan, ruled up my sleeves and began to help her. The following day, I felt a little of on my training run and… the pain set in! Nooo! So, I pushed through the weekend and was thankfully able to see Dr. Runco (my Chiropractor) who carefully examined the issues and corrected them… Lord willing, I’ll be racing again soon! Meanwhile, so much to look forward to! With the hilltop community church harvest carnival coming up, the world famous magician, Alex Ramon will be performing (really excited about this event)! Plus… Thanksgiving coming up…. well, just call me the “running Linus” hitting the roads and trails by day and snuggling with the warm goodness of fall! I close today by saying… whatever challeges you’re facing (as I’ve said time and time again)… stay focused on Christ. Stay the course. Never give up. Never give in. As Joyce Meyer says, “Sometimes just refusing to give up is the breakthrough you really need.”
NOW, onto a recipe for one of my favorite foods of Autumn… Roasted spaghetti squash with ginger!

IMG_20141018_215850
Photo from venusbuz.com

~Roasted Spaghetti Squash With Ginger
Ingredients
-1 lg spaghetti squash
-1tbs fresh ground ginger
-sea salt to taste
-1 cup extra lean ground turkey

Directions
Preheat oven to 400°. Cut squash directly down the center and pull out seeds. Rinse with water. Sprinkle ginger on both halves. Add salt to taste. Place on cookie sheet and pop into oven for 45 min or until thoroughly cooked. Pull out of oven and place on rack to cool. While squash is cooling, place turkey in a skillet, season, with sea salt and cook on med heat until thoroughly cooked into little crumbles. Take squash, toss up center so that its all noodley like spaghetti. Split turkey between the two halves, toss and serve!

Y’all have a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

