Cleanse and Refresh

Standard

Happy Sunday! Hope y’all have had an amazing week! Since I last posted things haven’t changed much. I began to make progress (as far as running goes) and was actually able to run outside instead of back and forth in my apartment. However, Tuesday… I headed out and pain returned. Wednesday, same thing. My heart broke. I’ve been spending pretty much every day inside of my apartment like a shut-in being that I have no vehicle of my own, I take care of my loved one’s child that mom and I are fostering while my mom is at work, and I live in an area that is flooded with hills which is exactly what my Chiropractor wants me to avoid. Even while training, I had to find a flat place to run. So, when Wednesday came and I was in pain… I broke! Mom and I headed to Bible study and the emotions from everything we were facing piled up. The financial struggles, my having to stay inside a very small apartment for days on end, not wanting to go and bother my Chiropractor who has already gone above and beyond to help me.. not certain if I need to go and get a deeper look (MRI), but not having the medical coverage to do so, my God Grammy still in the rehabilitation home with no way for me to see her, my heart desiring to race yet uncertain if I’ll be able to again, fed up with being a burden on everyone else and wanting so badly to do something productive and be a blessing to others, my troubled loved one still off on the wrong path meanwhile… Mom and I taking care of her little guy (my heart breaks for him)…. with uncertainty on every side… I had no idea what I was walking into. In class, they handed scriptures to everyone to read aloud. Mine… just happened to be…Isaiah 58:11 NIV
“The Lord will guide you always; he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame. You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail.” I wept!!! I wept so hard I had to have the class leader read it for me! Wow… hope sprang up again 🙂 The study was amazing! It brought even more hope along with prayer and fellowship! Much needs needed after spending so much time at home. When mom and I got home, I felt the Lord prompt me to do the one thing I hadn’t done since I moved out here and got clean… a cleanse! Now, as I spoke about in my last post… reflection and rebalance… well, that includes making sure I rebalance my diet starting with a cleanse to rid my body of the years of toxins that built up. How does one do that in a food stamp budget? The 99¢ store! Thankfully, they carry an amazing selection of fruits, veggies and even juice, so… cleansing is totally affordable! What a perfect time to do it. Unable to run… so, I cleansed for 3 days. This was trying… working with little guy while my mom was at work, him needing to eat every few hours.. yogurt, snacks, meanwhile, I’m chomping on cleansing fruits and veggies! Haha. However, it was so worth it! Now, here it is… heading into a new week… cleansed and facing the question that still hangs… Will I run and race again? As I sit here, watching “Seabiscuit” with my mom… the Lord keeps reminding me of that verse from Bible study… He will strengthen my frame… God is like that man who saw potential in that injured hourse that no one would give a chance… He sees potential in me, He sees potential in you! No matter what things look like for me, I’m choosing to believe that somehow, some way, He’ll heal me and release me to run and race once more. In the mean time… I’ll enjoy each moment of what’s been given to me! Today, I’ll close with a recipe for a cleansing fruit smoothie!

images-2
*CLEANSING WATERMELON SMOOTHIE*

Ingredients
-1 &1/2 cups watermelon, cubed and frozen
-juice from one lime
-2 peppermint tea bags
steeped in 1&1/2 cups
water (4minutes), bags
pulled out, then tea chilled

Directions
Place all ingredients into a blender, blend, and enjoy! You MAY add 100% stevia extract. Avoid any crystallized forms of stevia.

Leave a Reply

