Rebalance and Reflection

Standard

A new week and not much to share! In recent posts I’d been struggling with injury and family struggles. I came to a point where I had to surrender my dreams of professionally racing and focus on getting before God, enjoying family, rebalancing, healing, and building ministry. Will I race again? Will I accomplish my dream… my heart so desperately wants to… in reality, I don’t know for sure what is going on in my body. My chiropractor has been incredibly helpful, yet .. right now I’m dealing with pain and I’m unsure as to how to proceed. Do I need to see a medical doctor and get x-rays or an MRI? If so… still waiting on medi-cal to go through. Still without employment, trying every day to look on the bright side and press forward. As depression tries to sneak in, at this time I’m choosing to look back, savor the victories and recoup from the constant training and depletion that comes with racing. How? Well… that’s what the focus of this post and next weeks post will be.
Since my last post, I’ve been focusing on regaining my balance and working on my core and base strength. That being said, the following is a “rebalancing” workout.

Rebalance
1.) Go to a gym, track or even use your living room.
2.) Make sure you have a set of weights. I use 5-7 lbs being that I train for races and need to be careful as to how much weight I use.
3.) Have a towel and plenty of water.
THE WORKOUT
-warm up with a nice, steady 5 min walk and some dynamic stretches. If you’re doing this at home, make sure you either have a treadmill or plenty of space to walk back and forth or around in circles. Whatever surface you’re in, needs to be flat, so this means no raising the incline on the treadmill.
– start by doing a light jog for 10 min
-3 sets of 15 dumbbell curls (5-7 lbs for ladies, more for men)
-3 sets of 15 overhead tricep extensions
-3 sets of 15 dumbbell row
-10 min jog
-3 sets of 15 body weight or 5lb loaded squats
-10wall sits (hold each for 10 sec)
-10 supermans
-10 bird dogs
-10 bridges (hold each for 10 sec)
-cool down with 5 min of walking or light jog. Make sure your stretch out.

No recipe for this week… next week I’ll be taking about recovering from race depletion. have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

