Family trials and celebrations. Plus, something for the little ones!

Standard

IMG_20140627_222826

Last week, I left y’all hanging with a little suspense. 🙂 sorry about that! The tides began to rise as situations with my troubled family member rose which brought concerns about her precious little one… The details of this, I still need to keep in the unknown until God reviels His plan. All I will say is… My decision is this… All children deserve the best childhood that God could possibly give them. I am currently asking the Lord how I can go about doing my part to make that happen for little guy. In the mean time, I was preparing for my first double race day (am 10k and first USA track and field 5,000meter track event) in celebration of my recently departed God Dad’s birthday… The emotions of my family trials along with my worries for my God Mom, And… A trip once more to the doc. I pulled an Abraham. I told God, that since the first event was considered “treacherous” I would forfeit upon His request. So, I laid my 10k hopes on the altar on Thursday, and… Friday… I felt the Lord prompt me to do the 5k at the same event instead. So, Saturday… My running family and I headed out. The am course was the very last course that my God Dad had gone to last fall to support my God Mom… So, this was a perfect race to celebrate his memory.As we headed to the start line… Peace! We jetted off and up a 1.5 mile hill that was mostly climb, switch backs, roots, rocks, and at the top… An aid station. Then, again… I was a superhero… Flying fearlessly back down to cross the finish! Tears streamed down my face when I thanked the race director… What a blubbering baby! As the rest of the family finished their events, we quickly gathered around a cake and candle and sang happy birthday to my God Dad one last time. It saddens me now that I missed his last birthday… Never take for granted the ones you love. Soon after, my God Mom and I were headed to the track event. She ran 5 events and received Golds in each! WOW! I ran my first 5,000 meter and, well as always I will keep the outcome to myself. Before we left, I got to meet an elite Para Olympic athlete who showed me that determination… (plus a whole lotta faith) can move some serious mountains! After those events, we made a few stops and closed the day at Chevy’s (my God Dad’s birthday restaurant) to celebrate and… The opportunity to run ANOTHER event the next morning arose. We prayed about it, got the ok from God Grammy and…headed out to do the father’s day run in Pleasanton! What an amazing adventure!!! After, a trip to church and… A burger to celebrate with my God Family and my amazing mom  🙂 All I can say is… That phone call after my first two events on Sat, the one after the 10k on Sunday, the birthday celebration for my God Dad…the joining over a celebratory burger… These are moments that cannot be replaced.  Live, love, cherish those you hold dear and no matter what keep your faith! This week, since I mentioned the little one in my family, I’ll include a nice little treat that is of a healthier nature for your little ones… You may even want to try it yourself! 

Ingredients
-1 package low fat honey grahams
-1 container nonfat or low fat vanilla Greek yogurt
-1-2 sliced bananas (you can also add berries or sliced apples)

Directions
Get a square 2-3 inch deep baking sheet. Place a layer of graham crackers. Scoop about 1 cup of Greek yogurt and spread evenly over crackers, and place a layer of sliced bananas over the yogurt. Top with another graham cracker layer, then another 1cup layer of yogurt. Finish by topping with sliced bananas and your choice of berries, sliced apples… You can even add a little drizzle of Hershey chocolate syrup to make it more of a desert. This should serve about 4-5 kids.
So… In closing I will say this… Enjoy life, no matter what it brings. Embrace today and this very moment… Why? Because truly, that’s all we have. The future is in God’s hands and is up to Him to handle and unfold.

Leave a Reply

