Aside

Image

 

As a week closes up and I get ready to leave the houses it, i’m relieved yet saddened to be going home. You see… at home, I have the warmth of being around my mom, The relief of getting to be around my own cat, and the security of being in my own home. However, along with that comes facing reality. I go back to a place that seems so far away from everything, no transportation of my own, The everyday grind of trying to make ends meet, and yet somehow there is peace. While here, The enemy kept playing with my mind. Old, familiar faces kept coming across my path reminding me of all the times I tried one thing or another and failed. I began to be angry with myself for not being better off than I am now, for all the self-hatred in the past, the bad relationships, failed friendships, failed attempts at financial success, failure, failure, failure….. Wow!!! Here I was, alone to either sit in this and drown or grab a hold of God and rise up! Then, as I was going over a lesson in my Bible study I was led to Isaiah 54:4…. Lord began to speak to me…. A friend of mine I was spending time with was talking about her regrets and about all the times that she had messed things up. I begin to tell her house in Christ she is a new creation and gave her a big sermon on how the word she speaks about herself have so much power. I assured her that she did not need to be so hard on herself, because God loves her God sees her and cherishes her…. She’s a new creature in Christ! God is doing something and has some amazing things in store for her! Funny thing is, I was preaching to myself! I went to the house I was house sitting at and began to cocoon up, and press into the Father. I apologized for complaining even though in all honesty I do still have a lot more than many others. I let his love washover me, and let Him speak His words of love and encouragement to my spirit. So, this week I want to encourage you, that no matter what you’re going through…. Embrace this hill, embrace your situation! Ask God to lead you and help you be an encouragement to someone else… And through that you’ll see your situation and a whole new light! Now, I truly feel hopeful! For it is God who works to make the impossible possible! The reality of my home going, no longer bothers me! I go home knowing that no matter what tomorrow holds, God has a very best in store for my family and me. Besides, in Christ above all I am blessed! For this weeks recipe, and serving up something amazing for memorial day! Time to barbecue!!!!!

* grilled mahi-mahi with lemon zest accompanied by brown rice pilaf grilled and summer squash… And you get to wash it down with sparkling lemmon berry hibiscus tea!

~TEA
-4 hibiscus tea bags (Peet’s coffee and tea has an amazing blend)
-2 cups boiling water
-1 25.4 oz bottle of whole foods sparkling strawberry lemonade
-1/2 cup fresh blueberries rinsed
-1/2 cup sliced fresh strawberries
Directions
Steep tea bags in boiling water for four minutes. Pull them out without squeezing the water out of them (squeezing will make the tea aesthetic). Put in fridge for one hour to chill. Add sparkling strawberry lemonade, blueberries sliced fresh strawberries…. And your tea is ready!

~Brown Rice Pilaf
-1 cup long grain brown rice
– 1 1/2 tbs olive oil
-2 1/2 cups vegetable broth
-1 shallot minced
-clove garlic crushed
-1tsp crushed parsley
-1/2 tsp lemon zest
-sea salt and pepper to taste
Directions
In a medium sauce pan, Cook the rice in olive oil until slightly toasted. Slowly stir in the vegetable broth along with the seasonings let it come to a boil, then reduce to simmer for about 10-15min or until tender.

~Grilled mahi mahi with lemon zest
-2 5 to 6 oz mahi mahi filets
-1tbs olive oil
-2tbs fresh squeezed Lemmon
-1 tsp Lemmon zest
-1 clove crushed garlic
-1/2 tsp sea salt
-1/2 tsp parsley
Directions
cover A portion of your grill with foil, and let the grill heat up Marinade your fish seasonings place on grill and cook on each side flipping about every five minutes until slightly golden on the outside and flaky.

~Grilled Summer Squash
-1 yellow crook-neck squash sliced into circles
-1 zucchini squash sliced into circles
-sea salt and/or pepper to taste
-olive oil cooking spray
Directions
Spray a piece of foil w olive oil and carefully place on grill… And heat the grill. Place squash on foil, season lightly and let grill until slightly golden on each side and… You’re done

Now… Set your plates up, and enjoy your Memorial Day!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

