Restoration

Standard

Image

Jeremiah 31:3-4 NKJV

 

The Lord has appeared of old to me, saying: “Yes, I have loved you with an everlasting love; Therefore with lovingkindness I have drawn you. Again I will build you, and you shall be rebuilt, O virgin of Israel! You shall again be adorned with your tambourines, And shall go forth in the dances of those who rejoice.

 

There comes the time in life, when often times we feel that everything around us has crumbled, and that God has forgotten about us. However, God’s love is never failing. Do know that whatever your circumstances are, God sees you and love you as you are, He cares about you , and wants to restore you. you see, after my god dad passed….things were in a whirlwind. I was helping my god mom get the funeral together, practicing the music she wanted me to sing, training for up coming races and… still unsure of how in the world I was going to make ends meet. The funeral came.. it was a time of true remembrance of a wonderful man… my heart ached and yet was comforted by the blessed gathering of so many loved ones. The next day, my God Family and I ran a race… one member was actually running their first 5k with her precious baby girl!…where was the restoration aspect of this? At the finish line was the joy of getting together with my mom, sister, nephew, God Mom and family and enjoying one another’s company! Placing, reaching new folks, demolishing old prs mean nothing if you have no one to share our with! The day was full of pictures, laughter, and the joy of sharing success with those I love. You see, as I mentioned in previous posts… I didn’t have the best family life. I grew up around a very dysfunctional environment. The only real, SOLID person in my life was my mom. So, in this season, God has totally restored what the enemy ripped off! I have a great relationship with my mom, sister and nephew, a brother (who lives elsewhere) who I love, a relationship with my step siblings (even though my mom is no longer married to their dad) and… the blessing of my God Family with whom I’ve shared good, enjoyable, argument and stress free meals with, and have seen true, loving, faithful marriages that have stood the test of time! Wow! Do I really need to say more? So today, I’ll give you this… whatever heart ache you’ve experienced, whatever loss or family tragedy you’ve dealt with, cry out to God and ask Him to heal your heart and bandage up your wounds and He will (Psalm 147:3). If you feel abandoned by friends or family… ask Him to restore what was taken. He sets the lonely in families and restores double for our trouble. (Psalm 68:6 & Zechariah 9:12). In closing today, I will leave you with some tips on recovering from racing and a recipe for one of my favorite things to drink… smoothies!!!!!

 

-Race recovery

Recovery from a race starts the moment you cross the finish line. hydrate, hydrate, hydrate! Grab WATER ASAP! Sports drinks are great, however, make SURE you get 8-12oz of water before you consume anything else. Muscles need hydration to properly recover! make sure you quickly walk around, find a place to stretch CAREFULLY, and make your way to the nearest refreshment station. somethings I love to go for at the refreshment stations are:

-bananas+peanut butter + 1/4-1/2bagel=Perfect combo of carbs, protein, and potassium. 

-fresh fruit

-fig newtons +peanut butter or nutella

-trail mix

I do try to stay away from eating a lot of junk like cookies and iceream UNLESS I have just finished a half or full marathon.

When I leave the race, I try to get some sort of red meat in (yes… I eat burgers, but I bring sprouted grain bread and order just the meat and veggies). Steak is a bit more pricy, however, it is packed with protein and nutrients that will help you rebuild your red blood cells. If you are vegan.. get some sort of vegetable protein and iron asap! The day after any event, I usually try to take it easy by rather doing a short jog or walk and, yes… even take the day off (I generally try to take one day off a week). REABALANCE… here’s a link to some exercises that can help improve balance and keep your hips, back, and and strong: http://www.active.com/fitness/articles/5-core-exercises-that-increase-stability-and-running-efficiency?page=2

Finally… the day after any event, protein is crucial! I like egg sandwiches, oatmeal with freak yogurt, fish, ext…Make sure to replenish yourself with lots of fluids as well! Again… taking the day off after a race can do wonders for your body… just make sure you don’t just lounge around… use the time to clean or, walk… keep your body moving so you don’t end up getting stiff. 

 

On to the recipe!

 

Recovery Delight Smoothie

-1 cup almond milk

-1/2 cup pure, no sugar added cranberry juice

-1/2 cup blue berries

-1/2 cup strawberries

-1 handful spinachleaves leaves

-1tbs flaxseed

-1to 2 schoops of your choice of protein powder

-1to2 tsp of sweetener of your choice (I prefer to keep in unsweetened)

 

Directions: put almond milk and cranberry juice into blender or vitamixer, turn on low mixing level, slowly add other ingredients, then, gradually being up to the highest mixing level and blend until desired consistency!

Leave a Reply

