A True Friend is Closer Than a Brother

Standard

“Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art… It has no survival value; rather it is one of those things that give value to survival.” -CS Lewis

 

A while back, I mentioned that I would save the story of how I met my God Dad and God Mom… well… today seems like a good day to share! While out running one morning (mom walking behind me) I headed to Kennedy Grove and began to run laps around the trail. While out there, I saw a woman running like a gazelle! I stopped at the restroom and when I came out, I saw a man, sitting on a bench with an old western style hat on. “How far do you run?” He asked. I told him, then he pointed at the other lady running and said, “that woman over there… she’s a world class athlete! She’s run marathons all over the world!” Being young and a little leary of strangers, I cautiously said, “wow… ok. That’s nice.” Feeling unsure of how to read him, I carefully went on my way… as I headed out of the park, I heard a woman’s voice behind me… “my husband says you have a nice stride!” Again, I wasn’t quite sure I would be safe taking to people I didn’t know… I nervously said, “haha… thank you!” We introduced ourselves and I quickly ran home… later, as I began to get more into racing, I kept running into a very familiar woman… I remember being at the start line of a race called “Fast and Furious 5k & 10k” and that familiar woman told me she wished she had fitness like mine… “it’s the Lord, I told her.” It seemed like every event I went to, I either saw her out was mistaken for her… finally, at the start line of a Christmas day 5mile race, Big Al announced that she was “passing the torch” to me… after the race, we exchanged numbers and she soon became my mentor. Slowly, but surely a very unlikely, yet very incredible friendship began! Over time I found out that this amazing woman ran races all over the world and even qualified for the Olympic trials 4 times! Wow! And she told ME that she wished she had fitness like mine? So incredibly humble! As I got to know her and her family more, they became more and more of a family to me. There was something special about a family that I would invite to a college production I was in and would come to EVERY NIGHT to enjoy the show! Birthdays, holidays… they were there! Soon, I began to see them as family.

 Growing up, as mentioned in passed blogs, I never had a trust worthy father figure. My God Dad is not only trustworthy, but has encouraged me to pursue my dreams without telling me how, when, and what to do. He simply gave me tips to help me improve. He and my God mom took me on so many adventures, prayed with me, listened, were there during some of my most painful moments (Like Job’s friends, Job 2:11)… never would I have guessed that the couple I was originally kind of afraid of at first would become my dearest and closest friends. I write this today to show you how good God is.for every moment that was ripped off in my childhood, God has restored double by bringing people like my God parents into my life. (As promised in Zech. 9:12) Through them, I’ve learned what a good father is like, that a lasting/ faithful/loving covenant of marriage is truly possible in Christ, what a”normal” family life is like, and what true friends are. They’ve been there through my funky seasons and loved me through my little mishaps, and… I’ve been given the opportunity to be there for them as well! I’m truly, truly blessed! So, however you are… whatever you’ve been through, whatever ways the enemy has wronged you, ask the Lord to bring His restoration to you’re life. Keep your eyes and heart opened and you may just be surprised at what He does!

 

*Recipe for the day*

The following is a recipe from a childhood favorite of mine. I’ve made it gluten free being that I prefer to eat that way. I found the recipe online (www.allrecipes.com), made healthy adjustments to it, and have not yet tried it myself, however, am looking forward to trying it out asap! Please feel free to comment below and let me know if you’ve tried it and what you’re thoughts are.

 

Gluten Free Friendship Bread =D

 

Starter

-1 (.25 ounce) packet of yeast

-3 cups extra fine brown rice or oat flour divided

-3 cups organic sugar divided (you can also use a sugar substitute in the same measure ie: baking splenda)

-3 cups non fat milk

-1/4 cup warm water (114°f/45°c)

 

Directions

 

In a small bowl, dissolve yeast in water. Let stand 10 minutes. In a 2 quart container glass, plastic or ceramic container, combine 1 cup flour and 1 cup sugar. Mix thoroughly or flour will lump when milk is added. Slowly stir in 1 cup milk and dissolved yeast mixture. Cover loosely and let stand until bubbly. Consider this day 1 of the 10 day cycle. Leave loosely covered at room temperature.On days 2 through 4; stir starter with a spoon. Day 5; stir in 1 cup flour, 1 cup sugar and 1 cup milk. Days 6 through 9; stir only.Day 10; stir in 1 cup flour, 1 cup sugar and 1 cup milk. Remove 1 cup to make your first bread, give 2 cups to friends along with this recipe, and your favorite Amish Bread recipe. Store the remaining 1 cup starter in a container in the refrigerator, or begin the 10 day process over again (beginning with step 2).

 

Leave a Reply

