Health and parenting from the child of an amazing parent

Standard

Proverbs 22:6 NKJV

 

“Train up a child in the way he should go, And when he is old he will not depart from it.”

 

I begin today by saying that, while the closest thing I have to having my own child is my amazing cat that I bottle fed/raised and has grown to believe she’s human :D…. I would like to share some things in regards to raising a well rounded child. This comes, not from my own experience as a parent (for obvious reasons), but rather from my experience in being raised by an incredible mother. Those of you who have read my previous posts may remember that though I’ve had my rebel moments in life, I always had a sense of Who God wad and is. I always knew in my heart that He was with me even in my darkest hours. As a matter of fact… He’s here…. NOW! What an honor and privilege I’ve been given to have that etched into my heart, spirit, soul, and DNA! However, not everyone has been blessed with a parent who planted Godly seeds (along with many other amazing, valuable nuggets) just as I have been with my mom! That being said, I will share with you some things that I learned from my mother regarding faith, food, fitness, determination, education & gaining wisdom. So, we shall start with FAITH! Two great memories are stirred up add I write this… first, as a child, my mom raised me in an incredible church called Glad Tidings (now called Lake Tahoe Christian Fellowship) she, even during rough times, did get best to serve, fellowship & tithe… second, at home, she prayed with me, read the Bible to new, & wrote/sang worship songs. Our home was filled with Christian worship music whether she was singing it or playing it on the radio. Wow… a single mom (till I was 9)… what an incredible example st by her! Though I strayed at various points, I always returned to my first love… take note of the verse at the top of this post! Moving on to food! My mom was, and still is generally well rounded when our comes to food. As a child, even while we were on welfare, she did her very best to make sure I started the day with a good, healthy brand of cereal w plenty of milk for protein or today (sometimes French toast or pancakes) made of whole grain bread along with eggs. While my school included me in the free lunch program, times when she packed my lunch (our when I was at home for lunch) she made sure I had some sort of fruit and either a cup-o-noodle with a hot dog (not exactly healthy, yet VERY well rounded) or some sort of sandwich on healthy bread, loaded with either tuna salad or good ol’ PB&J! Chips, candy, pizza, burger king, McDonald’s, or even the local hot spot, Juicy’s were luxuries. At dinner, she always made sure I had VEGGIES! Broccoli and cauliflower were staples in our home. She would get creative with beans and dumplings, tuna casserole, soups and grilled cheese… for being on a low, LOW income budget, she did an incredible job of making sure that I got veggies, grains, and protein in every meal. Candy, I’ve cream, cookies, ect…we’re luxuries. While circumstances shook my childhood and lead me to very unhealthy eating patterns at various points, I grew to look back and mix what she taught me with nutrition and info that I picked up over time, this creating a very balanced way of eating that I continue to maintain! As far as wisdom and knowledge…. my mom went back to school to receive a certificate for business office administration with clerical concentration in order to build her skills and create a better life for us. At home, when I fell behind in school, she prayed and worked diligently with me to help me improve.this is what gave me the determination to graduate and the drive to later push through the impossible circumstances surrounding me and get my personal training certificate. In being wise with money and personal belongings, she taught me from the very beginning to take good care of my things.while at a grocery store, she would carefully inspect packages to compare sizes and quantities to ensure she was getting the most for her money. even today she can tell you if you’ll get a better buy from a dollar store or at grocery store with various items! my clothes, toys, ect. were given to me or a baught an incredibly low price! Somehow I always had more than enough! she also taught me to keep things clean, neat, and well taken care of in order to be able to enjoy them for a long time. so, today, I take care of what I do have, and I’m still learning to find the deals at stores (which is actually really fun). I’ve become less wasteful and more “nit-picky” about being organized and clean. As far as fitness… up until she got married and we moved, we would go for walks, bike rides, play in the snow, swim, & I even took ballet and jazz lessons at one point! she taught me to take good care of my body, not only with food (as mentioned before) but with regular exercise is well! Which is all very biblical! (I Corinthians 6:19-20). Our bike rides, and walks to the grocery store and corner store were some of my fondest memories! that along with some of the most incredible thing she did that’s at a huge example to me…the crisis pregnancy center (and organization that helped save my life) had a volunteer program. she not only volunteered a lot of her time, she also took me on the Walk for Life an annual walk-a-thon that raise money for pro-life! who would have known that the little girl who did walkathons for life would grow up to do marathon for Christ?! so, whoever you are, whether or not you have children, your lifestyle is an example to the world around you! my mom did a tremendous job of showing dedication, not only to God, but to family, as well as the body of Christ! she’s been incredible example to me of living a well-rounded and balanced life. that being said…dedicate yourself to building a solid, spiritual foundation.what that spread and produce fruit in your life, take care of yourself and those you love… and those will be behind you well thank you for one day! so here’s to my amazing mom! NOW…. on to the recipe!

In the health world we can often get too caught up in eating healthy that we forget to treat ourselves which takes the fun out of food. Remember, John 10:10 says that Satan came to steel, kill and destroy, but GOD gave us life to live to the fullest and enjoy! The following is a recipe for my favorite treat done in a way that will help you feel less guilty about enjoying!

 

~Burger, Fries, and Rocky Road Shake on the Side Done Healthy Style! (Shhh… don’t tell the kiddos)

 

*Burgers

-4 extra lean beef or turkey patties

-4 slices light cheddar

-4 sprouted grain buns

-mustard

-plain nonfat Greek yogurt (substitution for mayo mix w a dash of garlic powder to make it.taste closer to the real deal)

-sliced onions

-sliced tomatoes

-sliced pickles

-ketchup

 

Grill burgers on George Foreman grill, Add cheese, and dress up as desired

 

*Sweet Potato Fries

-3 lg sweet potatoes

-4 cups water

-sea salt

 

Preheat oven to 400°, Place water in a pan to boil, Slice potatoes French fry style, place in boiling water for 1-2 min, drain water out toss with some sea salt, speed fries on cookie sheet (coated with olive oil cooking spray) and put in oven to bake for 8-10 min or until desired consistency. Set on plates with burgers and enjoy!

 

*Rocky Road Shake

-2 cups nonfat milk

-1cup nonfat vanilla greek yogurt

-1 cup Dreyer’s non fat frozen yogurt

-5tbs chocolate syrup 

-1/2 cup dry roasted almonds

-non fat or low fat whipped cream

-mini marshmallows

 

In a blender, mix milk, Greek yogurt, frozen yogurt, chocolate drizzle and half of the almonds (if you have very small kids that are enjoying this, leave almonds out and use only as topping). Put into four glasses, top with whipped cream, marshmallows and remaining almonds…. enjoy!

Leave a Reply

